Tranent Parish Church • Scottish Charity No. SCO17423

Read/Think/Pray/Act

When people think of Presbytery they tend to think of occasional stuffy meetings or committees. Whilst it is true presbytery has meetings and yes it does have committees the best of presbytery is actually the people who make it up. Presbytery is a group of people drawn from a particular region who work together to build both God’s Kingdom and God’s people in that place. For us that is everyone from North Berwick to Berwick and Dunbar to West Linton.

Statistically in 2022 there were 19923 church members across 97 congregations. Together we are presbytery and together we serve God.

The Mission Committee thought that given we are fellow travellers, it would be good to spend some time travelling through God’s word together over a two month period. The idea behind this is that the whole presbytery look at the same scripture each day and pray the same words. Readings are taken from the Revised Common Lectionary.

For each day, read the passage, think about the passage, say the prayer and then consider what impact the passage might have on you. (Read/Think/Pray/Act)

So….

     Pause and be still before God

     Read the passage,

     Think about the passage,

     Say the prayer

     Listen for what God is calling us to do today


After the reading and thinking, we suggest everyone pray this prayer:

Dear God,

thank you for your word,  may it speak to my heart this day.

Help me see your Kingdom and through my actions, let your kingdom come.

Amen.


Readings:

Monday, July 1, 2024:           2 Corinthians 8:16-24

Tuesday, July 2, 2024:          2 Corinthians 9:1-5

Wednesday, July 3, 2024:     Mark 9:14-29

Thursday, July 4, 2024:          Corinthians 4:8-13

Friday, July 5, 2024:          2 Corinthians 10:7-11

Saturday, July 6, 2024:           Matthew 8:18-22

Sunday, July 7, 2024:           No readings, we worship with others in church

Monday, July 8, 2024:          2 Corinthians 11:16-33

Tuesday, July 9, 2024:          James 5:7-12

Wednesday, July 10, 2024:      John 7:1-9

Thursday, July 11, 2024:          Colossians 2:1-5

Friday, July 12, 2024:           Colossians 4:2-18

Saturday, July 13, 2024:          Luke 1:57-80

Sunday, July 14, 2024:           No readings, we worship with others in church

Monday, July 15, 2024:          Acts 21:27-39

Tuesday, July 16, 2024:          Acts 23:12-35

Wednesday, July 17, 2024:     Luke 7:31-35

Thursday, July 18, 2024:           Colossians 1:15-23

Friday, July 19, 2024:          Acts 17:16-31

Saturday, July 20, 2024:          Luke 18:35-43

Sunday, July 21, 2024:           No readings, we worship with others in church

Monday, July 22, 2024:          Hebrews 13:17-25

Tuesday, July 23, 2024:          Acts 20:17-38

Wednesday, July 24, 2024:     Luke 15:1-7

Thursday, July 25, 2024:          Colossians 1:9-14

Friday, July 26, 2024:          Colossians 3:12-17

Saturday, July 27, 2024:           John 4:31-38

Sunday, July 28, 2024:           No readings, we worship with others in church

Monday, July 29, 2024:          Philippians 4:10-20

Tuesday, July 30, 2024:          Romans 15:22-33

Wednesday, July 31, 2024:     Mark 6:35-44

Thursday, August 1, 2024:     1 Corinthians 11:17-22

Friday, August 2, 2024:          1 Corinthians 11:27-34

Saturday, August 3, 2024:     Matthew 16:5-12

Sunday, August 4, 2024:      No readings, we worship with others in church

Monday, August 5, 2024:     Ephesians 4:17-24

Tuesday, August 6, 2024:     1 Corinthians 12:27-31

Wednesday, August 7, 2024:      Mark 8:1-10

Thursday, August 8, 2024:     Romans 15:1-6

Friday, August 9, 2024:          Galatians 6:1-10

Saturday, August 10, 2024:     Matthew 7:7-11

Sunday, August 11, 2024:      No readings, we worship with others in church

Monday, August 12, 2024:     Ephesians 5:1-14

Tuesday, August 13, 2024:     2 Peter 3:14-18

Wednesday, August 14, 2024:     John 6:35-40

Thursday, August 15, 2024:     Acts 6:8-15

Friday, August 16, 2024:          Romans 16:17-20

Saturday, August 17, 2024:     John 4:7-26

Sunday, August 18, 2024:      No readings, we worship with others in church

Monday, August 19, 2024:     Acts 6:1-7

Tuesday, August 20, 2024:     Acts 7:9-16

Wednesday, August 21, 2024:     Mark 8:14-21

Thursday, August 22, 2024:     1 Thessalonians 5:1-11

Friday, August 23, 2024:          Romans 13:11-14

Saturday, August 24, 2024:     Luke 11:5-13

Sunday, August 25, 2024:      No readings, we worship with others in church

Monday, August 26, 2024:     Ephesians 5:21-6:9

Tuesday, August 27, 2024:     Ephesians 6:21-24

Wednesday, August 28, 2024:     John 15:16-25

Thursday, August 29, 2024:     James 1:1-8

Friday, August 30, 2024:          James 1:9-16

Saturday, August 31, 2024:     John 18:28-32


Read/Think/Pray/Act


Lothian & Borders Presbytery

Website under development here